Signal Fire in Transition

Greetings Signal Fire community, 

Thank you for your continued support of Signal Fire. As board members, we stand in support of Signal Fire’s mission and deeply value all that you give to us. You enable us to carry out our mission to provide opportunities for artists and creative agitators to engage with remaining wildlands and foster resilience, creative energy, and interdisciplinary collaboration.  You are the heart and soul of this work. 

We are writing with news of transition and to provide a bit of clarity: earlier this year, the Signal Fire Staff resigned. During the last several months, we have been focused on maintaining internal organizational functioning and logistics. Our 2021 season was cancelled to prioritize actively working towards new ways to solidify Signal Fire as a resilient and just organizational entity.  We are reflecting deeply on how to best serve and grow our community, and assessing our internal culture, programming, and development.  The Board gratefully acknowledges the dedication and talents of our wonderful Guide Collective in this ongoing work.  

In January of 2022 our new Interim Program Coordinator, Renée Rhodes, started work with us. She comes to Signal Fire as an alumni (Outpost, 2015) and a cultural worker with 15 years of experience working to develop and support artist-based programs. Over the next 6 months, along with our extended network of Guides, artists, and supporters, we seek to re-envision Signal Fire. 

We are committed to:

  • – Rethinking Signal Fire’s mission, vision, and programming goals
  • – Reflecting deeply about our internal culture
  • – Creating a strategic plan & seeking the funds to feed the work
  • – Laying a foundation to reestablish programming for 2023 
  • – Staying connected with our supporters and alumni

Right now more than ever, we appreciate you standing in solidarity and support of our work. 

Steady onward,

The Signal Fire Board of Directors
Daniela Molnar, Chair
Brenda Mallory, Treasurer
Jeanine Moy, Secretary
Anna Ialeggio, Member